top of page

My top 3 favorite TV shows

I wasn't really a fan of anything until I discovered shows that have stayed in my heart. The characters, the plot, the acting; whatever it is that these shows have that captivates me, it is magical.


In this casual blog, I'll be talking about my top 3 favorite TV shows of all time.



Number 3: Start-Up (2020)



Start-Up is a South Korean Netflix Original TV show with 16 episodes that premiered in October 2020. It follows the story of Seo Dal-mi (Suzy) and Won In-jae (Kang Han-na), two sisters that were forced apart after their parents' divorce. In-jae decided to stay with her mom while Dal-mi chose her dad, an aspiring entrepreneur that made all he could to get his idea heard by others.


Things for Dal-mi were hard from the very beginning. To comfort her in her loneliness, her grandmother asks Han Ji-pyeong (Kim Seon-ho) to write her letters and become her penpal. Han Ji-pyeong doesn't want to get too involved and so he decided to take the name of another person: Nam Do-san, a boy's name that appeared in the newspaper.


Years fly by, and both sisters' decisions have led them to completely different paths. When she encounters In-jae again, Dal-mi lies about her life and tells her sister she's still in touch with Do-san.


With the lie already said, Dal-mi finds herself in the difficult position of finding her former penpal. Her grandmother asks Ji-pyeong for help again in order to find the real Nam Do-san (Nam Joo-hyuk) so that Dal-mi isn't disappointed.


From here on, the characters embark themselves in a quest to follow their dreams and achieve them. Setting up a company, recovering long lost bonds, falling in love and persevering through the hard times are some of the topics treated during this amazing TV show.


If you read my blog "My experience with Slowly", you'll know that I'm a person who really enjoys writing and sending letters, so when I read the pen pal sinopsis on Netflix I immediately knew that I had to watch the show.


It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made my heart feel so warm. The episodes are a bit too long, but I'm not complaining at all. I honestly wished they were longer.


This show is an inspiration for me, and it holds a very special place in my heart.



Number 2: A Little Thing Called First Love (2019)


This is a Chinese drama starring Zhao Jinmai, who plays an incoming student called Xia Miao Miao that has just moved into town.


She immediately falls in love with one of her senior classmates: Liang You Nian (Lai Kuan-lin). This guy is perfect: kind, intelligent, a basketball star and handsome.


Xia Miao Miao starts a journey of self discovery as the story follows her last year of high school as well as her college experience, all while trying to catch the attention of that boy that she tenderly loves.


Making friends, discovering your true passions, adjusting to change, the breathtaking process of falling in love: this show covers it all. I am a hopeless romantic and this show meets all my expectations. And believe me, when it comes to romance that can be a very hard thing to achieve.


This show is about growing, not just physically but as a person. Through the show we can see Miao Miao's evolution from a shy high school student to a confident young woman who isn't afraid of following her dreams.


There are some heart breaking scenes in this TV show (and I cried so much when I watched them), but they compensate each other with the burst of happiness that this series may produce in anyone who gives it a chance.



Number 1: Skins (2007)


This is my favorite show of all time. I discovered it a couple years ago and ever since I have been rewatching it over and over again.


Skins is a British TV series that follows the lives of several teenagers. It treats topics like addictions, drugs, sex, mental illnesses and other general aspects that are include in adolescence.


The show is divided into three generations. Each one of them has two volumes or seasons, so they change characters when the ones of the previous season finish school.


Every episode usually focuses on one specific character so that allows the audiences to put in their shoes and see things from their perspective. It's also great to show each character in more depth to highlight their personality.


What's my favorite season? Well, I'd have to say the first one because those characters where the ones that made me love the show. The next generations are great too (although some people like to hate on the third one, please don't listen to them), but for me they don't compare to the first one.


Another amazing thing about this show is the acting! The roles are played by actors who are actually that age, and some of them had no experience before the show, which is just unbelievable considering how good they were. Seeing this show makes me wish I took part in something similar.


I'd have to say that this show changed my life. Even if my teenage years haven't been at all similar to what's portrayed here (I spend most of my time indoors, reading or writing), it showed me another perspective. This show is so raw and the characters are so well built and developed that it's impossible not to love it.


Skins it's so unfiltered and provocative. Some situations and topics here might be sensible for some people, so keep that in mind if you're considering watching it.


I feel so bad because I can't seem to put into words how much I love this show. But it is really amazing.



So those were my favorite shows of all time! Have you watched any of them? If so, what did you think? Let me know in the comments!







27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Publicar: Blog2 Post
bottom of page